Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Given that periodicals can be primary or secondary sources, depending on your topic and the type of article chosen, these sources have been separated onto their own tab. For guidance as to the type of source, your teacher or librarian can help!
Contemporary Newspapers- Brearley Subscriptions
Contemporary Newspapers- Databases
Gale OneFile- News This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 2,300 regional, local, and national U.S. newspapers from 1995-present
National Geographic Virtual Library (NYPL)
Full content from National Geographic Magazine, from 1888 to the present. Search covers, articles, images, maps, and advertisements, or browse by issue.
Provides access to current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 2,000 U.S. and international titles.
New Yorker Archive (NYPL)
The entire run of the New Yorker, in full text and full color, from 1925-present.
British Library Newspapers (NYPL)
NYPL database with full-text, searchable newspapers from the British Isles (1800-1950)
Chronicling America- Historic American Newspapers
Digitized newspapers from the Library of Congress
NYS Historic Newspapers
Historic newspapers from New York state, searchable by county or topic
Time Magazine Vault
Contains articles from 1923- present, arranged by theme or year- excellent for browsing. (Note: best for finding articles that correlate with major events or trends, does not contain full archive of more niche material)
Ebony Magazine Archive
Digitized archive from 1959-2008
Jet Magazine Archives
Digitized archive from 1951-2005.
American Periodicals (NYPL)
Contains more than 1,800 American periodicals (1740-1940), from journals to general interest magazines
19th Century UK Periodicals (NYPL)
An online collection of British magazines, journals and specialty newspapers from the collections of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, and others.
Times of London Digital Archive (NYPL)
Historical archive of The Times from 1785-2010.
Historical Worldwide Newspapers Online
Hosted by Bowling Green State University, a treasure trove of historical newspapers from all over the world, by country. within continent tabs.
Resources Available at a NYPL Branch
The Brearley School |
610 & 590 East 83rd Street |
New York, NY 10028 |
(212) 744-8582 | Contact Us