Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE (NYPL) This link opens in a new window
Infobase Issues and Controversies in American History This link opens in a new window
This database delivers dynamic, concise, and balanced coverage that provides the background, outcome, and contemporary points of view for every major debate and conflict in American history. All articles feature multiple primary sources, essential to understanding our nation’s past. In addition, all articles have been indexed to key subjects such as immigration, politics and government, race and civil rights, religion, war and military, and more.
Latino American Experience (NYPL) This link opens in a new window
Covers history and culture from all the countries in Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Iberian Peninsula, including content on modern-day Latin American countries, the history of the Hispanic Diaspora, and indigenous peoples. Features peer-reviewed essays, reference sources, primary documents, media, newspapers, and magazines.
The African American Experience: The American Mosaic (NYPL) This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender (NYPL) This link opens in a new window
Contains 51 digitized archival collections exploring LGBTQ history and culture since 1940.
University Press Scholarship (NYPL)
University Press Scholarship Online offers full text of over 7,000 academic monographs in 21 subject areas covering the humanities, social sciences, medicine, and law from six leading university presses.
What are the best places to find e-books?
(Not in ranked order!)
2. Overdrive through NYPL/BPL/QPL
3. Project Muse
4. Oxford Press Scholarship
5. NYPL Digital Research Books (Beta)
6. Project Gutenberg
(and get physical copies of books in our library!)
American Primary Source Collections
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Trans-National Archive (NYPL) This link opens in a new window
A historical archive of several million cross-searchable pages of books, serials, supreme court records and briefs, and key manuscript collections from the United States, Great Britain, and France concerning debates of slavery and abolition.
100 Milestone Documents
100 milestone documents of American History, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration
American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) Papers
This archive includes more than 2 million pages of primary resource materials from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU). The records focus on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court. The collection includes: legal briefs, newspapers, internal memoranda, client correspondence, and committee reports.
The Avalon Project
Hosted by Yale Law School- a vast collection of documents on law, history, and diplomacy, organized by century.
Center for Migration Studies Archive
The CMS Archive consists of more than 100 collections that document the immigrant experience in North America from the mid-19th to the 21st century.
Indigenous Peoples: North America (NYPL)
Over 50 archival collections documenting the Native American experience from institutions such as the Library of Congress, the Association on American Indian Archives, and the U.S. National Archives. These digitized primary sources include manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, and photographs.
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
Organized around thirteen defining migration narratives over 400 years of African American history, this resource makes available 16,000 pages of text, 8,300 illustrations, and more than 60 map, as well as secondary sources.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Hosted by Fordham University- a comprehensive collection of primary sources, organized by era and then topic.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
A vast array of photographs, letters, songs, drawings, documents, and more-- throughout the span of American history. Archives are organized by topic.
Making of America
A collection of Early American journals, monographs, and other documents from Cornell University
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, across the world
A multimedia judicial archive of the Supreme Court of the United States.
An online search that covers all digitized records and online images from the Smithsonian
Wilson Center Archive: International History Declassified
A digital archive of formerly classified documents from across the globe, providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy
Freedmen's Bureau Online
Digital archive of the Freedmen's Bureau, including labor records, marriage records, and death records.
The Brearley School |
610 & 590 East 83rd Street |
New York, NY 10028 |
(212) 744-8582 | Contact Us