Citations Guide: Chicago Manual of Style
How to Use this Guide
This guide is intended to illuminate key aspects and questions for the Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS), not to be a comprehensive style guide. The comprehensive Chicago Manual of Style is held at the circulation desk, and you may reference it at any time in the library. Each section also includes a link or two to an authoritative source on Chicago Manual of Style. All librarians are happy to meet with you individually if you have questions or concerns about individual sources or about your bibliography in general.
- Citation Guide- OverallThis comprehensive, easy to navigate guide from Fairfield University contains examples for nearly every citation type, along with the section number in the Chicago Manual of Style if you have further questions.
- Citation Proofreading ChecklistBefore you turn in your paper, check your footnotes and bibliographies against this helpful checklist from Fairfield University.
About Chicago Manual of Style
What About Footnotes?
- Footnote/Endnote GuideA helpful guide from Western Oregon University, which includes structure and examples. Also contains a section about how to use the shortened form and Ibid.
- Mechanics of FootnotesA helpful guide from University of Notre Dame that includes how to use quotations, and examples for footnotes.
Citing Historical Sources in CMOS
Citation of primary sources and historical sources varies widely by the exact format and how you found the source, so please use the links below for more specific information.
- Guide to Citing Primary SourcesA useful guide from the Library of Congress
- Footnotes Guide- Historical SourcesA helpful guide from Princeton University about creating footnotes for historical sources.
Specialty Sources in CMOS
- Music Citation Guide- all formatsA helpful guide from University of Iowa for citing all forms of music in APA, Chicago, MLA.
- Citing Legal/Government DocumentsA helpful guide from the University of West Virginia
- Art & Art History GuideA helpful guide for works of visual art from Dickinson College.
- Citing Nontraditional SourcesA helpful guide from Dickinson College that includes maps, illustrations, graphs, podcasts, interviews, TV, etc.
- Citing Social Media SourcesGuide to citing social media in all formats from Carleton College
- Basics of Citing Internet SourcesGuide to the how and why of citing internet sources from the Yale Center for Teaching and Learning.
Citing Books in CMOS
- Book Citation GuideA helpful guide from Bates College that includes the full form (at the bottom of the examples) in addition to first footnote and subsequent footnotes
| Print book | Lastname, Firstname. Title. City: Publisher, Year. |
| Print Book w/Multiple Authors | Lastname, Firstname, Firstname Lastname, and Firstname Lastname. Title. City: Publisher, Year. |
| E-book Read on Device | Lastname, Firstname. Title. City: Publisher, Year. [Device] edition. |
| E-book Read Online | Lastname, Firstname. Title. City: Publisher, Year. Stable URL |
| Chapter in Anthology | Lastname, Firstname. "Chapter." In Book Title, ed. Editorfirstname Editorlastname, pages. City: Publisher, Year. |
| Print Book | Firstname Lastname, Title (City: Publisher, Year), Page Number(s). |
| Print Book w/Multiple Authors | Firstname Lastname, Firstname Lastname, and Firstname Lastname, Title (City: Publisher, Year), Page Number(s). |
| E-Book Read on Device | Firstname Lastname, Title (City: Publisher, Year), [Format] edition, Page Number(s). |
| E-Book Read Online | Firstname Lastname, Title (City: Publisher, Year), Stable URL Page Number(s). |
| Chapter in Anthology | Firstname Lastname, "Chapter Title," in Book Title, ed. Editorfirstname Editorlastname (City: Publisher, Year), Page Number(s). |
Citing Articles in CMOS
- Chicago Citation Guide- ArticlesA helpful guide for all types of articles from Williams College
| Journal Article |
Lastname, Firstname. "Article Title." Journal Name Volume (Year Published): Page Numbers. |
| Newspaper Article |
Lastname, Firstname. "Article Title." Newspaper, Month Day, Year. (If newspaper is from a less well-known place, include (City, ST) between the newspaper name and the comma. |
| Magazine Article |
Lastname, Firstname. "Article Title." Magazine, Date. |
(If accessed online, turn the period after page into a comma and add the stable URL)
| Journal Article |
Firstname Lastname, "Article," Journal Volume, Issue (Year), Page. |
| Newspaper Article |
Firstname Lastname, "Article," Newspaper, Mon. Date, Year. (If newspaper is from a less well-known place, include (City, ST) between the newspaper name and the comma) |
| Magazine Article |
Firstname Lastname, "Article," Magazine, Date, Page. |
(If accessed online, turn the last period into a comma and add the stable URL)
